Fragrance Review: People Of The Labyrinths Luctor Et Emergo


If you read any fragrance boards or scout websites that sell fragrances, you’ll eventually learn about the magic of Luctor Et Emergo. It’s one of the most popular niche fragrances on the market and is the object of some serious devotion by many perfume fanatics. I really considered buying a bottle unsniffed a couple months ago, but never had enough money, so I eventually settled for a sample. I’m glad I didn’t go with a full bottle immediately. It’s not that I dislike this – actually, it’s on my “To Buy” list – but I don’t think this would have been a love at first sniff for me. It’s taken me a while to really appreciate it.

The thing that really confused me about Luctor Et Emergo is the fact that it smells like several different fragrances at the same time. It has a very yummy resin base, silky vanilla, and then a dusting of almond at the top. While this sounds good on paper, it means that there’s a rapid evolution of different notes when you wear this on the skin. It’s a little hard to get your bearings. But when you know what you’re in for, you can really appreciate what this is trying to say. My interpretation of Luctor Et Emergo is that it’s a kind of dark light – you have a very sweet, hopeful almond – vanilla confection squaring off against woods that are mysterious and maybe even a little dangerous. That’s not to say that Luctor Et Emergo is avant garde as I think it is a very wearable fragrance. But there are some interesting tensions boiling under the surface which I think explain this one’s popularity.

Out of all the almond fragrances I’ve sampled so far, I really think that Luctor Et Emergo is my favorite. That hit of resin at the beginning transforms this one from being mindlessly snuggly to an actual olfactory statement, which is something I usually look for in my personal perfumes. I really recommend giving this a try if you’re into niche perfumery at all. I think it really shows the risks a small perfume house can take versus a large one.

Notes: Precious Woods, Vanilla, Fresh Grasses, White Florals.

You can purchase Luctor Et Emergo at Luckyscent and Beautyhabit.

Leave a comment