Fragrance Review: Ava Luxe Midnight Violet


Hello! I am updating tonight from the road, having survived Day 1 of our journey. It was pretty rough – Sparky has been in a weird mood today and I didn’t have a lot to distract myself when I wasn’t sleeping. However, I am proud of myself for testing a frag so that I would have at least something to think about for a while. I chose Midnight Violet because it’s something I tried at the very beginning of my perfume career and disliked it immediately. My tastes have definitely evolved since then, but I wasn’t sure how I would react to Midnight Violet, which is one of Ava Luxe’s most acclaimed fragrances. There was only one thing to do – sniff!

The thing that really turned me off from Midnight Violet last time was its powderiness which reminded me of dust for some reason. This time, the powder was still there but it wasn’t nearly as noxious because it seemed a lot more opiate-like, forming a haze around the loamy violet. Unfortunately, I still did not react positively to this, but at least I didn’t have the same disgust. Midnight Violet now makes me uncomfortable, in the way someone crying in front of you would. It’s sad, and not in a profound way. Violets are known for their association with remembrance but this takes that to an extreme.

To be honest, I don’t know if Midnight Violet is in production now, as Serena is offering a limited selection of Ava Luxe items at her Etsy shop. I really wish she would come back in full force – she has such an interesting aesthetic and is so talented. Even though I don’t care for Midnight Violet, it’s definitely not boring or poorly done.

Notes: Violet, Blue Iris, Orris, Earth, Black Hemlock, Galbanum, Pink Pepper, Cinnamon, Cedar, Sandalwood, Incense, Wood Balsam, Moss, Civet, Cashmere Musk.

Leave a comment